A Short History of Urloffen, Germany
(A few highlights translated from German to English by Jim Moll)
Urloffen and surrounding communities were started around 500 AD.
According to history Queen Uta of Schauenburg was from "Hospital St.
Jakob and Johannes at Urloffen".
Zimmerer Waldbrief, a notary from Strassburg, translated a song from latin into German in 1389.
Swedish troops burned Urloffen in 1632 early in the thirty years war.
The population at the end of the war was about 300. It grew to 332 in 1692.
The seventeenth century was peaceful there until 1795 when the French revolution spilled into the area.
St. Martins church was completed in 1835.
The rest of the aritcle describes the 1848/49 revolution, the two world wars and recovery afterwards.